Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Department of Ophthalmology


Other Information

Other special feature of the department
  • State of art infrastructure and all facilities for teaching as well as patient care
  • Fully functioning eye bank and keratoplasty centre
  • Use of latest Medical Education Technology methods for effective teaching
  • Strong mentorship system


Dr. Renu Magdum, Professor & HOD Department of Ophthalmology, on the occasion of Teachers day, has been felicitated with a trophy by National Institute of Ophthalmology (NIO) Pune for professional achievements and outstanding contribution towards medical education, on 05th September 2020

Dr Abhay Lune, Professor, Department of Ophthalmology successfully completed the Ironman Triathlon held in Zurich Switzerland in 2019

Dr. Parikshit Gogate received 2020 Chang Humanitarian Award for his outstanding and untiring efforts to provide humanitarian eye care in the area of cataract blindness by the American society of cataract and refractive surgery on 3rd January 2020.

Dr. Radhika Paranjape received ‘Asha Kelkar Award’ for her invaluable contribution to the functioning of Poona Ophthalmological Society (POS) on 17th December 2016.

PG Students Achievements Dr. Saurabh Ashtamkar received the third prize for his poster on ‘Prevalence of Vitamin A deficiency and Refractive errors in Primary school going children” in a conference organised by Association of Community Ophthalmologists of India (ACOIN) GOA on 10th September 2017

Dr. Minal Daultramani was awarded has participated as Delegate in the “Current and future Challenges of Healthy Aging” held on 15th & 16th April 2017 organized by Peristatic Society of India, Pune Chapter at Dr. D.Y. Patil Medical College, Hospital & Research Centre, Pimpri Pune-18 .

Dr Nikhil Toshniwal was awarded for being the runner up to the Postgraduate Grand viva held at I Focus, National Postgraduate Education Program in Ophthalmology, New Delhi, January 19-26, 2020.

UG Students Achievements 1st Prize bagged by UG students at AFMC in intercollege Eye Donation Fortnight Quiz Competition on 6th September 2019.